Sunday, September 5, 2004


2004 marks the 35th anniversary for the cancellation of 'Star Trek', and in to salute that infamous example of network programming ineptitude (May the network programmers be nibbled to death by ducks!), we have been inducting a different member of the original cast each month for the year.

As September is the month in which we honor the Creators of the TV Universe, then it is only right that the Great Bird of the Galaxy receives his due here. What started out as a simple vision of "Wagon Train to the stars" has spawned an industry that reaches beyond the TV Universe and into movies, books, comics, songs, and pop culture in general.

Gene Roddenberry lived long, he prospered, and he will be missed.
In case anyone was interested in who the other 'Trek' inductees have been up to this point, here's the rundown of the year so far:

January - Captain James T. Kirk
February - Lt. Uhura
March - Dr. Leonard "Bones" McCoy
April - Commander Montgomery Scott
May - Yeoman Janice Rand
June - Zephraim Cochrane
Birthday Honors - The Cast Of The Original 'Star Trek':
William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, DeForest Kelley, James Doohan, George Takei, Nichelle Nichole, Walter Koenig, Majel Barrett, Grace Lee Whitney
July - Ensign Pavel Chekov
August - Helmsman Hikaru Sulu

Every month I'll be posting the next inductee into the Crossover Hall of Fame, and we still have a few 'Trek' personnel to go!


No comments: